Joonho Lee, PhD, who finished up as a postdoc in the Reichman group this past July, was nominated by Columbia Unviersity and received the 2023 Blavatnik Regional Award in the category of Chemistry.

Congratulations are in order, as Liang Li, a rising fifth-year student in the Nuckolls and Venkataraman labs has received the 2023 Edward Prince Goldman Scholarship in Science from The New York Community Trust--given annually to Natural Sciences graduate students selected by faculty.

In recognition of his academic record, Prof. Colin Nuckolls has been selected to receive the Humboldt Research Award.

The Chemistry Department mourns the loss of our Professor Philip Pechukas, please see obituary to honor his memory.

The Chemistry Department mourns the loss of our alumna, Dr. Ning Zhao. Dr. Zhao was a very successful scientist and a generous donor to Columbia University and friend to the department. We offer our heartfelt condolences to Dr. Ge Li and the rest of her family, and to her many close friends including other alumni of the department.

Prof. Owen is the 2023 recipient of the Inorganic Nanoscience Award from American Chemical Society Division of Inorganic Chemistry, in recognition of exceptional research in the area of inorganic nanoscience!

Professor Jonathan Owen named among recipients of the 2022-2023 Lenfest Distinguished Columbia Faculty Award!

Columbia Chemistry's own Professor Wei Min has received the Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award from the SPIE

Prof. Makeda Tekle-Smith has received a Lenfest Junior Faculty Development Grant. The grant will support a seminar series on Organic Synthesis and Catalysis. An important boost for our department!

Professor Ged Parkin has been named an American Chemical Society's 2022 Project SEED Mentor of the Year! 

Congrats to Columbia Chemistry's very own Eric Arsenault, XYZ Group, who won 21st place in the Philadelphia Marathon this weekend, among eight thousand runners worldwide!

The Department of Chemistry at Columbia University invites applications for a Biophysical Core Facility Manager, Associate Research Scientist who will serve as the manager of its shared biochemical characterization instrumentation facility.

The Chemistry Department is currently seeking a full-time Business Manager.

For more info on the position, please navigate to the URL:

Congratulations to Professor Milar Delor for being recognized as a 2022 Beckman Young Investigator Awardee!